Cloud computing classification/azure classification

12 Oct 2018

cloud computing classification

Cloud Computing can be classified as two main models

  • Deployment model
  • Public Cloud
  • Private Cloud
  • Hybrid Cloud
  • Service Model

IaaS: Infrastructure as a service eg: VMs
PaaS: Platform as a service eg: SQL Instance, Web Apps
SaaS: Software as a service eg: O365,Gmail
Microsoft Azure is supporting all the above models

Architecture of Azure

  • Azure Service management/Classic – legacy
  • Azure Resource Manager
  • Azure VMs
  • Can be created through by portal as well using the PS script.
  • Can create the VM depends on the requirement with the Sku and can scale at any time we want.
  • All the VM images will be available in Azure market place also available Linux VM images.
  • Microsoft will manage the disk and the network if we are select the managed service disk.
  • Microsoft can give the 99.95 % SLA if we are configured the high availability option(Update,Fault domain).
  • Storage account is the primary requirement of the VM creation and the storage account name should be globally unique since the endpoint can publish to the internet.

Azure Networking

  • Address space and the subnet is an integral part of Azure.
  • In ARM we will be able to create Vnet to Vnet, Site to Site, point to site VPN.
  • Express route and the VPN connectivity are the two possible way to connect the Azure Infra apart from the Https traffic
  • Content Delivery Network(CDN) is helpful for the web apps to store the metadata of high memory files.

Azure AD

  • We can extend the on premises AD infra to azure with azure AD
  • AAD connect is helping us to sync the on premises user info to Azure AD
  • MFA can be enable through Azure AD